interweb freedom

(formerly Stop Usage Based Billing)

Thing One: Speak Up

Posted by Laurel L. Russwurm on August 19, 2009

I’m going to try to do one thing to fight UBB every day. Today I went to Honourable James Moore’s website and selected “Contact the Minister” to send my message to The Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages.

This is the message I sent electronically through his online form:



No Usage Based Billing

No Usage Based Billing

I am very upset about the CRTC’s decision to allow Bell Canada to implement Usage Based Pricing. Inexplicably the CRTC is also allowing Bell the unprecedented right to charge UBB to non-bell customers.

As “a big fan of information technologies” you need to understand the gravity of this threat to Canadian internet access. As one of the overseers of the CRTC it is imperative that you look into this matter immediately.

I can tell you right now that if this ill advised system were already in place I would never have undertaken to create the russwurm.org web page (heritage).

Or made contributions to wikipedia (promoting Canadian Culture).

Or begun blogging (culture again).

Personally I have been working hard learning to make good use the internet but this extortionate pricing will most certainly force me to modify my internet behavior. The ramifications are simply frightening, particularly in the area of Culture.

These reply forms are awkward to use, so perhaps the best thing would be for you to visit the blog I’ve begun which is dedicated to this issue: https://stopusagebasedbilling.wordpress.com/

In addition to voicing my own concerns, my Stop Usage Based Billing blog also links to as much of the other internet online commentary on this and related issues that I have been able to find (and which I will continue to update). Perhaps you’d be interested in becoming a contributor to this blog when you get up to speed on this issue.

I believe that it is imperative for Canada to be able to participate in the Internet to the fullest capacity. The worst side effect of this decision is that it will curb Canadian internet use, which will certainly put Canada at a global disadvantage.

Like me until recently, most Canadians have no idea that this is happening. If it is allowed to be implemented, I expect that the Canadian response will not be a happy one.

Sincerely,
Laurel L. Russwurm



Canadian Flag

Canadian Flag


You can also contact the Minister by snail mail at:

The Honourable James Moore
Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages
House of Commons
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0A6

Amazingly enough, I believe that it is still free to mail letters to government officials in Canada.



If you wish to become a contributor to this blog contact laurel.l@russwurm.org



Leave a Reply

 
